Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Graskop Gorge - Jungle and Adrenalin

    September 27, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    The next morning, we could sleep in until 7am, which was really weird after all these early wake-ups before. No wonder that most of the others (not me), were already awake at around 5.30am.
    As it was pretty fresh outside (it finally rained, after it hadn't since May), Takalani had put on his Masai cloak to keep him warm. I was pretty glad to have brought my raincoat and Sebs' fleece jacket with me. After a great breakfast, we jumped, yet again, onto our beloved truck and started the Panorama Route. Our first stop was the Gorge at Graskop. It was weird, suddenly seeing South Africa not in a very dry, bushland setting but in a wet, jungle-like one. However, that was a pleasant change. I love green!
    The fog and trickling water created a very mysterious vibe around the place, and when a thunderstorm approached us, our group finally hid inside the café to drink something hot. I chose a hot Chai Latte, which was absolutely fantastic. Gary tried to persuade us in trying either the Zip lining or the Gorge Swing. On the one hand, I'd love to try the swing, especially when it is only 35€. On the other hand, would I hate to jump down into 70m of nothing until a safety harness would catch me and swing me to the other side. So I decided to join my folks at the zip line. We caught a window without any rain or thunder to get right into the experience. We looked like idiots but felt on top of the world afterwards.
    Read more