Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Alunas First Time at the Beach

    December 30, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    After an awful night full of unnecessary thoughts, I woke up at 7am to get myself ready. I was going to pick up some used furniture for my new flat and had to drive to Lübeck and Bad Schwartau for it. Luckily, my sister was kind enough to come with me to help. We picked up my two Kallax shelves and some treats and a leash for Aluna as substitutes for my forgetfulness. Afterwards, we had a long walk with Aluna around the Riesebusch forest in Bad Schwartau. Muddy, wet and nearly frozen, we drive back to Travemünde where we warmed up our bodies again staying at my Dad's flat. After a proper breakfast, Aluna and I made our way to the beach. As it was her very first time at the sea, I was really looking forward to her reaction. I know that she loves playing in the sand at home, so being with her at the beach would be amazing. And she really loved it. As soon as she realized everything was sand, she sprinted into the distance and was super happy. Sniffing each and every shell, and meeting lots and lots of different dogs, I knew that she'd be very tired tonight. We walked and walked for at least 2hrs and she never even so much as touched the calm water to her right. She is a beach dog, not a water dog, that's for sure.
    Finally, we finished our walk and met my parents at the Maritim hotel lobby. We took the lift up to the 13th floor with an amazing view over the Trave and I cleaned Aluna from all of the saltiness. I wanted to go to the Christmas Market, as there still was one in Travemünde, so I left Luni with my Mom and went on my own. There were little handcraft stands with wooden statues, pearly necklaces and witty writings. And there were Bratwurst and Glühwein, but what I wanted was Schmalzkuchen. Little pieces of dough, baked in fat and served with powdered sugar. Here in the North of Germany it's also called Mutzen. I love Mutzen! These were the best I've ever eaten because they were so freshly baked and still very soft. I ate the whole bunch on my way back to the hotel, and I have to admit... My tummy hurt after that. Well, they'll never be as good as that anymore. Back at the hotel, I made myself ready and my family and I went to The Pub at the foot of the Maritim Hotel. We ate a very late dinner whilst Aluna was fast asleep beneath our feet. And after dinner, I was glad that I could still roll my stuffed body up the hill to get back to Dad's flat.
    Read more