Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Estella to Los Arcos

    April 9 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 43 °F

    100 miles done. 400 to go. 20% of the way!!

    Nothing starts the day better than a chocolate croissant, a fresh squeezed orange juice, and a cafe con leche. I’m getting so used to this daily routine, I may start having to incorporate breakfast into my mornings back home.

    You know what else starts the day right? About a mile into my walk, I found the Fuente del Vino. Yes that’s right, a wine fountain! I dumped out my water bottle and enjoyed a pretty good tempranillo over the next few miles of walking.

    Chilly and windy today but I kept my sleeves rolled up because the wind felt amazing on my arms and face as I watched the wind blow through the tall grass around me. The wind was swirling and dancing and it was kind of a magical experience. No, I wasn’t high. Just enjoying the combination of the amazing scenery, crisp air, muscle exhaustion, and tempranillo running through my veins.

    Bryan and I have always dreamt of owning a wine bar. Today, I’m thinking that if we did, we would obviously then have to travel the world sourcing great wine from vineyards… and those travel expenses would be a business write-off, right?
    Read more