Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 16

    Burgos to Hornillos del Camino

    17 de abril, España ⋅ ☁️ 46 °F

    207 miles done. 293 to go. 41%

    Today was blah. Walked only 12 miles on this leg and one of the shortest distances of all of my planned walking days. The walk today covered the beginning of the Meseta, the central plateau/tableland, of Spain.

    While walking out of Burgos, I walked the backside of the Cathedral which gave another impressive perspective of its enormity. Came across some signs of LGBTQ+ community inclusion, a bench and metalwork art of a pilgrim.

    Came across a little chapel where a nun asked to say a prayer over me for protection on my pilgrimage and then gave me a necklace with a little medallion.

    I should have eaten lunch in Burgos before walking because the dinner options in this little town I’m staying are bleaker than bleak. I settled for a burger and beer at what seemed like the better of the only two restaurants in town. It was easily the worst burger I’ve had in my life. Two stale pieces of crusty bread, a slice of yellowish thin cheese so oily that it was transparent, on a little burger patty that was rubbery yet still very rare at the same time (seems contradictory, right?). No lettuce, tomatoes, onion, pickles, or anything.

    Watched a movie on my phone, Scoop, on Netflix about the relationship of Prince Andrew and Jeffrey Epstein. Was a good flick.

    Off to bed!
    Leer más