Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Mansilla de las Mulas to León

    April 24 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 37 °F

    308 miles done. 192 to go. 62%!

    There were no cars coming. I looked both ways. There wasn’t a cross walk, so I crossed. Immediately after getting to the other side of the street, two police officers appeared and motioned for me to come to them. Immediately there was a pit in my stomach. Was I going to be arrested for jaywalking?

    The León police asked me for my passport. So, I got out my US passport and they looked at it and said excitedly, “Colorado!” What they really wanted though was my Camino passport. And out of one of their vests, they pulled their little stamp device in order to give me a stamp in my Camino passport. Then they said “Goodbye Colorado!” and walked away.

    I’m so glad I’m not in jail for jaywalking. But now I have a fun police stamp in my Camino passport (see pics).

    Toured the Cathedral, ate a huge lunch of pasta and cheese, did laundry, took a nap, met up with my Australian gals, late dinner. Tomorrow is a rest day here in León. Gonna do all the touristy things. Very long walk on Friday, so I’ll need the rest. Buenas noches!
    Read more