Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    León to Hospital de Órbigo

    April 26 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 55 °F

    328 miles done. 172 to go. 66%!

    Woke up and hit the road. I noticed that Spain treats Thursday nights like the start of the weekend and everything is closed on Fridays until late morning. Even cafes. So I started on my way at 8:00 am and walked for 3 hours before I found an open cafe. Had a quick coffee and then walked another 3.5 hours to my destination, Hospital de Órbigo. The walk itself wasn’t scenic… it was mostly along the side of highways and through industrial areas on the outskirts of Leon.

    Hadn’t eaten breakfast or lunch, so I grabbed a burger at a little bar nearby the hotel after walking in mid-afternoon which sufficed for both lunch and dinner. I still have yet to have a good burger here in Spain.

    The Comic Sans font is used EVERYWHERE in Spain. On municipal signage, on menus, on billboards and other advertisements… really. It’s maddening! The only place this font should be used is in daycare centers as a cheerful font for 4 or 5 year olds who are learning to read. That’s it. Stepping down off soapbox now…

    Had a zoom meeting this evening with others who I will be walking with on the Portuguese Camino in October. I’m looking forward to seeing how that landscape differs from the Camino Frances.

    Rain, rain, and more rain forecast for tomorrow. Looks like it’ll be a wet day!
    Read more