Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Day 33 - Agua dulce

    2 juin 2023, États Unis ⋅ 🌙 57 °F

    Miles hiked: 19.7
    Campsite location: m 464
    Weather: 70s and sunny
    One word to describe the day: trekkie

    Today I left the koa around 7am. Mel was still sleeping so I didn't want to wake her. I started the day with a climb out of Acton that led to a fun tunnel under pass. Directly on the other side of the underpass the scenery changed drastically to cool rock formations. That area is called Vasquez rocks. Many films have been shot there, including star wars. At the visitor center I finally got my pct hang tag! You can normally get them at the southern terminus but the rangers take one day off per week and that day is Tuesday. Which happened to be the day I started.

    After Vasquez rocks the PCT literally walks through a town, agua dulce. I stopped and got a taco because, why not. And then I met back up with Caroline who patiently waited for me. And then about 30 minutes later Mel showed up!

    We all left town and hiked another 8 miles to the next water, all uphill! I'm tired! We walked a little more after filling up to the next campsite we could find. It was getting pretty late so we quickly set up camp, had a lovely dinner (my favorite peak refuel chicken coconut curry) and promptly went to bed. Good night!
    En savoir plus