Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32 - action koa

    June 1, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 55 °F

    Miles hiked: 14
    Campsite location: Acton koa
    Weather: 70s and sunny
    One word to describe the day: mosey

    Today was an easy day after yesterday. It was alot of downhill into Acton, where I picked up a box with way too much food in it. Todays hike was lovely. We started above the clouds and ended below. The temps are still really low for the average desert temperatures.

    When I got to the trailhead there was a couple seeking mango sticky rice. I got some and it was so damn good 🤤

    I'm staying at the koa tonight. Nothing special but I did get a shower. A guy named Jim, who lives at the rv park gave me and Mel a ride into town where I shipped some stuff home and got dinner at the 49er saloon. It was quite tasty!

    Caroline is starting to hike much faster then me so she decided to keep going. Not sure if we will hook back up or not. 🥲 But, its part of the trail and it was going to happen soon anyway. "hike your own hike", as they say! I feel like I'm in a bubble right now, there are a lot of hikers around me. Mel and I are hiking at similar speeds right now!
    Read more