Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61 - Mt Shasta

    June 30, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    This morning we started hiking at 5:30 to beat the heat. We hiked 11.5 miles by 9:30am! As I was sitting waiting for Mel a guy drove by me and asked if I was the hiker that called for a ride. I said no but we need a ride! Is name was doc and he took us to Shasta. I had seen his name on our navigation app for rides. That was easy!

    Luckily I was able to book the last koa spot in Shasta. All the hotels were booked out since it's a holiday weekend. The koa is nice! big trees, lots of shade, showers, pool, laundry...what more could you ask for? We stopped into a shoe store that has a guy known as the 'foot Jesus'. I needed new shoes and he knows how to fit your feet properly. However they were out of all sizes I would need!! So I got a pair of insoles and ordered shoes for my next town stop in etna. My shoes will have over 600 miles on them by the time I get there.

    Tomorrow there is a festival downtown for the 4th that we will check out. We will most likely head back to trail tomorrow evening since lodging is booked. Mt Shasta is a super cute town!
    Read more