Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    June 29, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    Miles hiked: 22.5
    Campsite location: 1490.5
    Weather: high 80s and sunny
    One word to describe the day: heatwave

    This morning I checked my Garmin weather and the high for today was supposed to be 92, tomorrow 99! The heatwave has finally reached us. We have been sooooo darn lucky with weather so I am very grateful for that. Even though it got hot today we had an amazing swimming hole to cool off in. I normally take lunch around 12 miles in but today I pushed it to mile 17 because that's where the swimming hole was!

    We had a lot of climbing today. The day started with a big climb, then it was downhill to the swim spot. The final 5 miles were all uphill and steep. Plus we have a dry camp tonight so I had 4 liters of water in my pack to get me to the next water source tomorrow. Water is heavy!! Today was a great day overall. I had epic views of Shasta and the forest was very pretty. Tomorrow we have only 11 miles into town 🥳
    Read more