Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Day 64

    3. heinäkuuta 2023, Yhdysvallat ⋅ ☀️ 72 °F

    Miles hiked: 24.6
    Campsite location: 1557.9
    Weather: high 80s and sunny
    One word to describe the day: cougar!

    Early wake up again today to beat the heat! About 1 mile into my hike, just around dawn, I saw a mountain lion (90% sure)! It was about a football field length away on the trail and my eyes need a touch up 🤓. But it was a very large, tan animal. It didn't quite look like a deer and deer don't care about people at all. It very quietly ran away from me. I got a good look at it for about 5 seconds. Pretty neat!

    Today we got some more views of Shasta and lakes! I also saw some rattlesnakes today. Eventful wildlife day! Around mile 9 we arrived at a trailhead and there was trail magic!! It was from 3 hikers that did the trail last year. They were making crepes, I ate mine too fast for a photo. And lots of other goodies! I definitely want to do some trail magic next summer around Hood River! How fun!

    Mel and I did another 24 mile day. I'm beat!
    Lue lisää