Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 106

    August 14, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 77 °F

    Miles hiked: 28
    Campsite: 2373.5
    Weather: high 90s and 🌞
    One word to describe the day: hooooot

    Today was mostly under tree cover, thank goodness, because it was hot!! We had some longer water carries and some of them had norovirus warnings so I double treated them. This morning went to make a reservation for Wednesday night at the Washington Alpine club for lodging in Snoqualmie. Unfortunately It was all booked up. I only had 44 mi left to hike so I decided to book for Tuesday night and just push it. Hence my 28 mile day. For 45 bucks a night they provide a bed to sleep on, laundry, showers, dinner and breakfast! What a deal.

    Washington is no joke. I'm pretty proud of myself for hiking 28 mi today. It is literally either up or down. We had a lot of elevation today and it was incredibly hot. Felt pretty good when I got into camp, considering. I haven't been this physically tired in a while. Normally it's my feet that give out first. Today it felt like my legs gave out before my feet!

    Right before our last big climb, in the heat of the day I stumbled upon trail magic! It was such an amazing surprise. This trail magic was probably the best timed trail magic I've had all trail. All I could think about was an ice cold beverage, and there it was! Thank you, trail angels!!
    Read more