Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 114

    August 21, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 61 °F

    Miles hiked: 10.4
    Campsite: 1507.5
    Weather: scattered showers & 60s
    One word to describe the day: unpredictable

    I enjoyed my last night of sleeping in a bed. Got a very good night sleep! I think the next few weeks will be quite challenging but I'm ready for it! I said goodbye to mel this morning and headed to the Amtrak station.

    A trail friend of mine, Maggie, lives in Truckee. She gave me some food suggestions to check out while I was in town. Went and got some avocado toast and coffee at do more coffee. Took the free bus around Truckee to a place called the Golden rotisserie to pick up a burrito to eat on the trail. After that I did my first solo hitch, sorry Mom! I've got rules to follow to keep me safe. A nice guy named Brian pulled over to pick me up. He said he never picks up hitchhikers but he decided to pick me up because I look like his daughter. He was in the middle of zoom calls for work. After he was done with his calls, we chatted for a bit. He was very impressed by the fact that I'm doing the PCT. He had done the El Camino which is in Spain. And plans on doing a trail that goes across America next year when he retires.

    Now I'm officially a southbound thru hiker! It feels weird. It feels like I'm going the wrong direction, but I'm sure I'll get used to it eventually. There's less trail markers this way because less people go southbound. The scenery is so gorgeous. I feel like I'm in the Sierra is already! Hurricane Hillary brought me some unpredictable weather. The forecast looked really good when I left Truckee. It was just calling for a few scattered showers. Which was the case until it wasn't and started raining harder. I booked it to the nearest campsite, set up my tent and curled into my sleeping bag. Tomorrow should be better!
    Read more