Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 143

    September 20, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    Miles hiked: 14
    Campsite: Leavenworth
    Weather: 40s and rainy
    One word to describe the day: Bavaria

    This morning I did a section of trail in the morning that has been dubbed the 'dump truck' challenge. It's pretty much where you walk (no running allowed) as fast as you can up this section of trail that is about a mile long, a ton of switchbacks and about 1000 feet of elevation. I did it in 16 mins which is definitely not anywhere near the fastest but was still fun🤪

    I ran into some hikers today when I got into Stevens pass. We got a hitch from a guy who works up there and also hiked the pct in 2015, his name is 'whistler'. I decided to go into Leavenworth to see if I could find rain pants because this next week looks wet. I did not find any rain pants here but I did get some German food, a shower and a bed. I split a room with the hikers I met. Waldo, Scarface, Bob the builder and (enter name). I'm not sure I'll hike with them in this next stretch because it sounds like they may be fast hikers but we will see!
    Read more