Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 10 - March 1

    March 1, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Kia ora,

    Love is in the air on the Flying Kiwi tour. No, I am not referring to myself. A guy and girl from Germany who have only known each other for a couple days are apparently still hanging out at the beach as I write this entry and creating a buzz around camp.

    The plan for today was to head to Mt. Cook National Park and do a 3-hour hike to the base of the mountain. This was an absolutely gorgeous route with a glacier along the way. I was able to hear the sound of an avalanche, but did not see it. The hike was far away from an avalanche zone, but positioned to be able to see one. I took many pictures along the way, and it is worth noting how lucky we were to have to the weather we had. One of our tour guides said it rained every time he was here last year, so the sunny and clear day was not to be taken for granted.

    We made a couple stops in towns along the way to camp, and I purchased a couple snacks and supplies ahead of the big Routeburn Track commencing on Friday. A few people on tour are under the weather, so we are doing our best to make sure no one else gets sick. I was on the dinner crew tonight, and we enjoyed some delicious nachos. Afterward, a few of us chatted over wine and beer.
    Read more