Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Day 16 - March 7

    March 7, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    Kia ora,

    Not a whole lot to write about today as it is mostly travel time. I was able to say goodbye to most of the people at camp this morning, except for a couple from Austria that went out for an early bike ride and a couple others who were still sleeping.

    It is weird to not be with a group that you spent do much time with over the past couple weeks, but it will be fun to keep in touch going forward, and perhaps have reasons to visit new places where some of them are from.

    Currently, I am waiting to board my flight in Auckland. I am looking forward to seeing how I feel when I land in Chicago technically one hour later. I also might be coming down with a cold, but it doesn't seem too bad at the moment.

    I have a couple souvenirs and New Zealand wine and chocolate with me to take home. This trip was incredible, and it is probably too difficult to pick a favorite moment. Currently, the surprise orca sighting on the dolphin swim is running through my head. It wasn't the sighting that totally grabbed me, it was everyone's reaction on the boat. As adults, it is hard for us to react with childlike joy and wonder when someone gives us a material gift; but the way little surprises like these in creation move us to such an expression is a really neat thing to see and be a part of.
    Read more