Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Old Marbella. Little Streets Everywhere.

    March 12, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 63 °F

    Early Sunday morning walk. My place was cleaned today so decided to get out of the way and get lost in the Old City. Hardly anyone out. I donned the headpiece Brian Eno vibrating my temples as I wandered into the maze of brick and stone streets . Up and down. Across and to the other side. Down steps to the right. Past a religious grotto and to the left. Left, right, back or forward. Which way?

    Totataly lost and a bit disoriented. Recalling a large maze on the Malecon the seafront drive in Havana that my aunt would take me to as a child. Unnerving as I was shorter than thus unable to see over the wall thinking I would never be able to find the exit. I’m lost forever! But suddenly I was out or back where I had begun. My aunt waving at me. "Can I go again I would ask?” Always seeking the thrill of the unknown. She never tired alway letting me go again and again. Sweet dreams.

    Old Marbella is like that but of course now as an adult I know I will find my way out.
    But what if I didn’t? No when you think that you find yourself going down one tiny alley and you are back in the same location. And that’s without a Tardis or Transporter Room.

    I found several nice looking little hotels scattered about. Peeking through the entrance doors and windows all looked very well restored and modernized. It would make for a romantic getaway for newlyweds or a couple looking for a refresh.

    There are also multiple little restaurants in this area one them with Michelin stars. Many are not near main Plaza de las Naranjas which is a beautiful place in the center of town but draws a lot of tourists.

    I sat on a park bench the rays of the Spanish morning sun warming my cheeks while enjoying the solitude. But after a short while from one of those little alleys a group Belgian, or Swiss or Danes appeared. Speaking loudly all dressed in similar colored shirts and shorts a sigil on the breast, sneakers on their feet. It turned out it was a teamn building exercise. How cool! Perfect site. It would be fun in this maze of streets. My reverie broken I had to leave.
    There is a city in Cuba whose streets are an intricate maze that only locals know how to navigate. Over the years it was intentiaonlly designed as such to catch and thwart marauders pirates wwho came up river to loot. But once the looting and probably too much rum they could not find they way bak to their waiting boats.
    Read more