Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    San Cristobal

    February 15, 2020 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    The city is in the state of Chiappas is in a valley on 2200 meters rounded by mountains.
    Since I’m not fond of heat anymore temperatures around 20 degree are just fine!
    Thy city has 250‘000 inhabitants, it‘s just the size I likes city to be. A human size.
    My first tip from the taxi driver who took me to the my AirBNB was; Whenever you take a cab, take a picture of the Cab number (on the doors), fake a phone call and tell „them“ in which cab number you sit. Good advice but also; WHAT KIND OF PLACE IS THIS?? Scary....

    The town is a grid like many towns here. The center is clearly restored and taken care of but off the beaten path the houses immediately start to show signs of age and not being cared for. The further you go the shabbier the houses get.
    It reminded me of St. Petersburg in Russia. There actually the one front of the house (where tourist walk) was splendidly renovated. In the parallel street behind the same house looked like abandoned🤭.
    The houses almost all have the same height (one story, max two) and similar architecture which gives the city a nice, harmonious, cozy feel.
    Vendors are all over the place. Mostly Mayan places. Seeing the desperation of howbadly they want to sell and how many there are I assume poverty must be large.
    I see 5 year old boys selling and I see 7 years old girls with a baby on there back selling.

    I had agreed with my travel buddy Jonathan to meet in S.C. Then we bumped into eachother in a „Chocolateria“. On may way to the center I got distracted by chocolate.... S.C is famous for it.
    We roamed the city, helped the way to a church which must have had a billion steps🥵.
    Dinner in a restaurant/space for Art/textiles. https://la-antigua-restaurante.business.site/
    See the video.
    We learned about a digestive called posh made of corn, cane sugar, and wheat. LECKER!!!
    Great dinner für 10 Sfr.
    Read more