Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 73

    Don’t want to leave - but going home

    March 27, 2020 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    If you leave a comment please don’t forget to out your name - otherwise I won’t know who left the comment.

    I really, really don’t want to leave, don’t want to interrupt my travels. A lifelong dream comes crashing down. I need to process the going back, wrap my head around it.
    There is a deceptive silence, ill-omened quietness. Cases are at 19.....?
    I feel like in no time there will be an eruption of corona cases; Followed by a health catastrophe, recession, social riots, military intervention....
    I could be wrong, I’m no expert, so I discussed my assessment with a couple of local residents.
    Same assessment.
    Traveling home becomes more difficult by the day. Locally and globally. It is to much of a risk to stay here.
    My family and friends are obviously very concerned. The last thing I want to happen is me getting sick and my family not having the possibility to be near me. It would devastate them.

    The German embassy is conducting repatriations flight. One is on Sunday. The gave 40 seats away to neighboring countries. Among them 10 to Switzerland.
    I’m on that flight. It pays out that I have been in contact with the Swiss embassy since a week.

    Right now I can hear Claudiazul grinning. She will hold this against me for the next 100 years.
    “The Germans saved you”🙄😏😀

    The journey scares me. One because my pulmonologist advised against it. Then...
    Drive from Antigua to Guatemala City. Three hours checking procedures starting at 6am. Sixteen (!) hour flight due to technical stop in the Dominican Republic. Frankfurt Airport. Train to Base. Taxi home. Many opportunities to contract the virus. I have so many mixed feelings.
    Anxiety, fear, anger, sadness ....

    But much better then a complicated journey through Mexico, the USA and god knows what other countries.
    I’m still very grateful of the privileges that are bestowed upon me.

    Eventually of course I will come to terms with everything. Hoping to continue my now return travel to a one-way-ticket travel.

    Cheers
    Claudia
    Read more