Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    When again is the flight?

    January 12, 2022 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 0 °C

    I've been to Egypt and Cairo in 2006 and the experience was not at all pleasant. Telling this Umna, a cousin of my friend Nadja I met in Switzerland, she commanded that she must correct  this experience and invited me to come see her.
    We also had one of these immediate connections.

    I've been wanting to learn Arabic since I was 20 years old.

    1. Attempt in 1982 in Jerusalem. At the time the best University to learn Arabic. Could not go - my father who had to fund me did not think of this Idea as the brilliant Idea I thought it was.

    2. Attempt 2005 in Damascus. Had everything ready. VISA, school, Family stay - then the situation became difficult in Syria. Did let it go.

    3. Attempt will be October 2022

    So I'm going to see my new friend Umna and her family. Immerse in local culture and make plans for October.

    Who knows me, knows that on all my travels several mishaps happen - mostly me being clumsy, unaware, forgetful... Missing flights, showing up with ID instead of passport at the airport, loosing important stuff like passport, ending up in Hospital and more of it.

    I am also very bad at orientation - a friend of mine always wonders how I can travel the world with such a bad sense of orientation, even google maps can't help me... yeah, but I get to talk to a lot of people because asking direction and obviously also get into a lot of adventures because their direction is approximately or just wrong to save face.

    This time it almost happened before I even left. I thought of my travel date Wednesday the 13.1.2022. Knowing me I took a good look at my ticket... what???
    The 13. is on Thursday? Why???

    Pffff.

    I'm very excited to go. Also, it has been 6 month I came back from my last travel. Torture for my soul and spirit.

    Talk soon!
    Claudia
    Read more