Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    The camino provides

    September 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    We woke up with rain and then the rain stopped. The forecast didn't look very good, but hey, on other days the forecast was worse than the weather. So maybe today it wouldn't be too bad. I left early and it felt warm. Just had my raincoat nearby but t-shirt and shorts seemed more than enough.
    The first part of the day was a pretty steep climb from the picturesque vintage Castrojeriz. And what comes up has to come down so then there was the 18% decline. And with the decline the wind picked up and soon it started to rain. Rivers of water were following down. So I needed to be careful descending. My shoes filled up quickly with water. My shorts, t-shirt and the thin raincoat made me cold. But because of the strong rain I didn't want to open my backpack to search for a sweater.
    After a long descent I saw a small church and I entered. It was actually a church converted into an Albergue. And the Italian hospitalera saw me enter, all cold and shivering and she offered me an espresso. This was the best coffee of the day and warmed up my body and my soul. I then helped the lady with taking down chairs from the table and after a little while I continued my camino. I arrived in Frómista around noon. And luckily I did. It had started to rain again 10 minutes before I arrived but it didn't stop for 3 more hours. I was fine. But after me many pilgrims were soaked to the bones.
    Read more