Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Camino on hold

    September 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    This post is delayed because it has to do with a surprise. Alejandro, my wife's son is coming to the Netherlands and celebrates his birthday there. So that meant I just had to put the camino on hold and be there as well.
    So therefore I changed plans. In Frómista there is the Camino Lebaniego Castellano that crosses its route with the Camino Frances. It leads south to Palencia which is a city with a beautiful cathedral. So I decided to take that route and leave the camino this day.
    This camino follows the Canal de Castillo all the way to Palencia. It was a super quiet and beautiful hike.
    Unfortunately with the early morning light and all the water, it was also a great place for mosquitos. At one point I was under full attack of these nasty creatures but after intensive use of my repellant I was safe again.
    In the end it turned out I had walked over 45km to reach Palencia. In the evening I just rested. Palencia would have to wait until tomorrow.
    From Palencia I will take the train to Valladolid, stay there a night and then via Madrid to Holland.
    Read more