Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 159

    Phillip Island

    September 8, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    This weekend Ingrid is hosting us at her family holiday home in Ventnor, Phillip Island. It's around 90 minutes from Melbourne so Maddy took the day off work so we could head down a bit earlier. We woke to the sun shining (I knew the sun cream would come in handy) and headed out for brunch at a nearby cafe and sat outside. It was lovely in the sun and I only had to put my fleece on a couple times when it ducked behind a cloud.

    On the way to Phillip Island we popped into Maddy's parents house so that she could grab a couple of bits. We got to meet Maddy's mum and her nephew, as well as their 2 alpacas, Monty and Simoneious. I have been previously warned that under no circumstances should I go in Maddy's Wendy house at her parents house as it is basically a giant nest for huntsman spiders. I have been living in fear since we arrived in Australia that I will bump into one of these giant critters and fortunately I am yet to see one. Maddy is desperate for me to see one so she had a peak in the Wendy house to check. Luckily for me there wasn't any in there! Apparently there may be a few on Phillip Island so perhaps I'll get unlucky there instead! After a cup of tea and some cheese and biscuits we made a quick stop at the bottle-o (off licence to non Aussie folk) for supplies. We eventually arrived in Phillip Island around 7pm so pulled up at a pub in San Remo (just off Phillip Island) for a drink and waited for Ingrid and Dan to join us.

    Back at Ingrid's humble abode we tucked into some Thai before a long overdue catch up, a good old cards against humanity session and a hilariously long game of heads up! I even managed to stay up until 2:30am which is very impressive for me!
    Read more