Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Blue room cave

    March 2, 2023 in Curacao ⋅ 🌬 27 °C

    The plan was to go kayaking to the Blue Room Cave and snorkel along the way. We arrived at a remote beach and Capitian Feel Good would not rent us kayaks. He said the seawasto rough, and was also scared that someone died at Mambo Beach the day before and he was worried it would move like a virus to other beaches. What I have learned is to always expect a change of plans (and a shift in emotions).
    We decided to hike but unfortunately I had on white flip flops that were thin worn and nearly ready for garbage. After several thorns dug through, Christel offered we switch shoes. At one point we contemplated turning back as Christel was uncomfortable with locals we met along the way.
    We were with Ava (Christel’s childhood friend who was in town) and Wes. They stayed on the cliff with our bags, Christel jumped off, and I timidly climbed down on the coral. Got into the water and guides were with a group, so they helped me get under the rock and into the cave. Once there it was pretty neat, but I had a stinging feeling on my back and wanted to leave as I didn't know what it was.
    I returned back to the cliff top and Ava and Wes jumped in. It was nice to have some alone time in the middle of no where.
    Once they surfaced again, I decided to try jumping off the cliff (only 10-15ft high) and screamed the whole way down. I forgot to plug my nose so I got a good saltwater rinse.
    We went to another location for a cliff jump (about 30+ ft up), and watched Wes and Christel go a few times. Was fun to watch Christel in her element!
    Later we went to a Laundhaus for some food (just coffee for me) and then dropped off the crew and back home for a quick shower before heading into the studio to teach.
    Read more