Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Kayaking, Networking & Fish

    March 3, 2023 in Curacao ⋅ 🌬 26 °C

    Friday was a packed day as it was my last full day and I was fitting it ALL in. I took some time off regular work, and used the car which was great. Although I only used $20 of gas (so didn't go very far).

    Ingeborg sailed with me and I had given her my card when we left and asked that she stay in touch as she seemed to be connected to all the people who needed crew. She wroteme a What's App note and we were back and forth through the week. When I didn't get to kayak to the Blue Room I reached out to her as she was connected with Eddy (teaches sailing) and even though it was windy we had a wonderful paddle. She is a great lady and I look forward to connecting with her again if I return.

    A quick shower and change and off to a networking event at PID with Iwan. It turned out to be a baby celebration.... The doctors (Erica and Germain), just had their 4th boy (Fender), two weeks ago. There is a Dutch tradition of sprinkles on bread/toast. It was nice to chat with people, but unfortunately I couldn't stay long as I was heading back to Happy Hour at Christels.
    I didn't get to say goodbye to Ashley, but Eline was there and so was Alisha. I was so fortunate to meet a lot of great people during my stay.
    Christel, Alisha, Wouter and I went to a fish place (right on the water) to eat. You stand in a long queue, order food and they bring it to you. It looked like the only thing I could have was tuna as the rest was fried. However, when it came I went to the kitchen area to check -- turns out they coat it with soy and then roll it in sesame before grilling it..... BUT no gluten in the frier, so fries (and corn fries) were available to try.... And they ordered special tuna steak for me -- Delicious!

    ** last night of sleep and I slept well every night. I averaged 7-8hrs per night and usually felt great!! I turn on the AC at night, once in bed, put in a long sleeve shirt so the bugs wouldn't bite me, and usually slept ALL night (better than home).
    Read more