Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Bugs

    January 25 in Antigua and Barbuda ⋅ 🌬 27 °C

    Andy and Karen in the Catamaran beside us warned of the bugs and they were correct. The mosquitoes attacked me viciously! The good news is that we had shore power and are able to run the a/c on the boat and I can lock myself in and do some work.
    Was nice to chat with the offspring this morning on her daily walk. My Telus # and SIM is with friends an my call forward is to a virtual Canadian number so I can make and receive calls here. Unfortunately, not texts …. So I’ve learned that third factor authentication is a pain but most can be redirected to a phone call or WhatsApp.
    Brian worked in the boat all day, washing the salt spray off the windows, polishing the boat. I worked on the computer with the citronella burning beside me. In the evening we walked the Jolly Marina docks to look at boats and ran into some interesting guys at the end dock… Rick was an older gentleman that loves to chat and walked to the end of the dock with us, where a guy got off his catamaran and came over to give me a fist bump grateful that I helped him lift his 85lb Manus anchor from his dingy to the concrete beside Lorena, earlier in the day.
    We then walked to the fruit stand and the grocery store (with no bags), so only bought a few things… like Gluten Free shortbread cookies (what a treat to find in the Caribbean Islands)!
    Read more