Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 56

    Caught a Fish!

    9. maaliskuuta, Saint Vincent ja Grenadiinit ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Woke up and decided early that Brian would do a pastel. We lowered the dinghy from the davit, put the engine on, and then I attempted to start it. There was a kerfuffle as I had a learning style different then Brian’s teaching. But we worked it out quickly and he allowed me to start and drive the dinghy. I could have stayed in the boat and worked but decided to go with him and read. It is his first art attempt in awhile as he wasn’t inspired by anything he saw in Bequia.
    When we returned to Lorena, we decided to apply the stripper to the rub rail followed by lots of sanding. Finally we gave up after we bought another lobster from a local fisherman who stopped by the boat - they also gave us two conch. Brian decided to make some water (run the generator and put up with load noise), and I tenderized the conch and figured out how to cook it gluten free style. We cooked the lobster immediately as it was fatigued. I read that the conch parts are good bait for fishing, so I took a rod and tried to figure out how to us it. I started on the transom and worked my way to the bow, where I caught a Jack Fish. We could have kept and ate it, but since we already had a feast waiting, we released it.
    The water maker was giving pressure problems, so Brian was nervous, but when it finished we decided to go snorkelling. The water was clear and beautiful along the point and we saw lots of coral, lion fish, Chinese trumpet fish and more. Back on the boat we cleaned us at the stern shower and lounged (and took a spin around the Bay on the dinghy). We came back to Lorena and grabbed some attire before leaving again to check out the shore. We went for a long walk on the beach (and I climbed the bolder, that reminded me of the Rocks in NB). We stopped at Sunet Cove and had a virgin Pina Colada and watched the sun decent before heading back to the boat to feast on lobster, quinoa salad and conch. I decided to fry the conch in oil, with chickpea flour, egg wash and crushed gf crackers. It was very good! We usually listen to music during meal prep and eating…. And sometimes there is dancing involved afterwards 😆.
    Lue lisää