Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Sousse, missing the flight to Italy

    August 22, 2018 in Tunisia ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Time to say goodbye.

    A look at the "Grand Rouge", the camion which has been the family business for 30 years.

    We are very organized, we think.
    We leave at 10:00, the flight is at 15:00, plenty of time to vist Sousse (simple subtraction).
    We head to Sousse and visit its port, the Hannibal ship (just a picture). Its wonderful Rībat (every single room and space), a quick look to the souk, a superquick look at the restaurant menu ...
    The airport of Tunis is two hours from Sousse and we just didn't realise how LATE it was. The hot? The excitement? The watch?

    So?.....I missed the flight.
    Horror 😱

    The guy at the check-in was very strict, although the airplane was still there, the take off was scheduled in half an hour he didn't let me and three more passengers to get on the plane.
    Gone.
    No following flights, no seats for the following 20 DAYS. Tunisia crouled on me piece to piece. I wanted to go home, Walid needed to go home.

    I spent the longest of the nights in a residence nearby with the heart in my throat. At 8 in the morning, without a sleep, I run to the airport and I didn't breath until an officer at the AirFrance ticket office told me there was a seat on a flight to Naples via Paris at 12:00.

    I love Paris, actually. I find it romantic.
    Read more