Satellite
Show on map
  • St. Simons Island, Georgia

    June 12, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Welcome. I created this travelogue to document my father's trip to France. We will be in Paris for a few days, then will travel to Normandy to visit the D-Day invasion beaches and other sites. Our base will be in Bayeux when we are in Normandy. Laurie and Brittany made most of the travel arrangements, so thanks to them for doing this. I am sure the trip will be flawless. Lisa will be taking care of Scoot (and the cats, chickens and parrots) while I am gone, so thanks to her also. Most of all, thanks to Dad's neighbor Deb, who will be looking after Honeypot, Blossom, and the rest of dad's critters.
    Next Saturday, June 23 will begin the adventure. The plan is for me to fly from my house on St. Simons Island up to St. Marys county to pick up my father and fly him back to St. Simons. The next day we will leave from Jacksonville headed for Paris.
    Normally I am not much of a picture taker, but this trip will be different, as I know a lot of people will be interested in Dad's experience. I will try to post daily.
    Starting off, here is a picture of Dad and I with my Cirrus that was taken a few years ago.
    Read more