Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    The Breedlove

    February 16, 2014 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Bunk was great, I met lots of great people there, but it got to the point where the work for accommodation area was too crowded and unclean. It was mostly French people actually, fanny and her friend, and couple of French guys. The guys ended up getting kicked out in the end for stealing bottles of alcohol from behind the bar working in the kitchen there. There was a girl called Penny who worked behind the reception and another girl from the Netherlands I think, she played guitar as well and one night came back from a night busking with 140 bucks! That was enough for a whole weeks rent and a few meals! In one night! I was determined to get my own guitar and keep practicing and work towards busking for my own upkeep in Australia! I did a lot of browsing online and searched in local stores for second hand guitars but nothing felt right. You can tell a great guitar the first time you hold it. It has a certain sound; deep, resonant, warm. Nothing I tried was what I wanted, everything under 200 bucks was good for first timers, but I wanted a guitar I’d be happy to carry the length of Australia with me, and ultimately take home. On Gumtree of all places I found a few options and then one came up for a second hand breedlove. Advertised for $390 it was a little above my original price range, without having a solid income yet and after spending a large chunk on kitesurfing i was running low on funds fast already but I still wanted to get my hands on the guitar. The description was perfect, electro acoustic so good for playing gigs and it looked like no other acoustic guitar I’d ever seen. I arranged to meet the seller and as soon as I held it I knew it was the guitar I had to have, with guitars I always go with my gut and I’m so glad I did. I’ve ended up busking across the entire length of the Queensland coast line with it and it has paid back for itself at least 4 or 5 times over. And I recently discovered that it’s actually worth just over a grand to buy a new one. One day I’ll write an email to Breedlove and let them know how far this one guitar has travelled and how much I adore their workmanship. I’d be heartbroken if anything happened to it. I’ve got to survive riding a bike through Vietnam with this guitar on my back over the next 3 weeks. Wish me luck!Read more