Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    X Base, Central

    March 14, 2014 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I met two rad Germans while I was staying at Base, Hugo and Max. Hugo was leaving aus soon so was sleeping in the TV room without paying for the first few times I met him and Max was looking for a job at the time I think. One night I remember was daring Hugo to snort salt for 5 bucks which he agreed to without hesitation. If you’ve ever tried it you’ll know he immediately regretted it.

    Anyways Max was working as a solar panel salesman door knocking around the suburbs of the city for a company called biosolar. I wasn’t getting enough hours at Birdees so I asked him to hook me up with an interview.
    I had been to a couple of other interviews, one charity one which seemed more about making money and giving people a career than actually helping the charities. I still donate to the world wildlife fund for nature when I can, and maybe one day I’ll head to South Africa and set up a black market demand for poacher skulls. One day.

    But anyways, biosolar. I emailed in to the contact Max gave me, I thought he was pulling my leg at first because I thought Justin Mabutt was one of those names Moe calls out for in his pub on the Simpsons. But he was a real person, and a genuinely nice guy as well. I got called up for an interview with short notice and I had to ask the chef Oliver to leave early on shift to get to the interview on time. A lot of people seemed scared of Oli because he had a short temper, but when you are a chef you have to get things done right, cleanly and quickly for the satisfaction of customers,but so long as you respected his kitchen he was a good boss. Anyway, he let me go for it.

    The interview was at the biosolar headquarters in wooloongabba, along side a vegan health food restaurant and yoga studio, run by the ceo’s fiancé. I felt like this place was cool already, and authentic. Leather sofas, a water dispenser and a cute receptionist at the desk in the entrance area accompanied me while I waited. They also had a few rows of old solar panels stocked against the wall so you could get close to the technology.

    The interview itself was a simple arrangement. Personal introductions, a group chat, sell us this object as a team in front of everyone. The energy in the room emanating from the main manager, Sunny, was evident and made me feel excited to actually join the company. I think the guys were impressed by my education and accent and confirmed my place after I spoke to them personally after the group interview was over. I’d never felt that getting a job was being like welcomed into a family before but at biosolar, that’s what it was like.
    Read more