Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Moving homes.

    March 12, 2014 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    From moving other people’s homes to moving my own.
    The work for accommodation job really started to suck.
    24 hours a week with no pay took the energy out of you when all you did when you got off shift was hunt for other jobs. And the free accommodation you got was far from 5 star. Not even 2 star. In fact it was crawling with ants, I had no personal space for any of my stuff and the chef I worked with was a bit of a dick.
    I’d heard about Base backpackers at the centre of Brisbane from a few different people, and they had the down under bar underneath where we went drinking on Wednesdays sometimes (as well as more wet T shirt competitions) I was still working in Birdees as a kitchen hand and a glassie, but I was being paid for my glassy hours. I decided to move out, quit the kitchen hand hours and just do the glassy shifts. So I didn't lose out on the wet t-shirt privileges. I turned out now I potentially had two if I wanted.

    The money from that could just about pay for a weeks rent at Base so I picked up my stuff and checked out. I was 5 minutes up the road before I got picked up by an off duty bus and ended scoring a free ride. Win.

    I remember the main entrance to Base smelt a little stale and the walls were peeling but the reception staff were cool and the people staying there were chilled out so I settled in really fast. I ended up meeting a guy in the downstairs computer / desk area one night after playing Dota 2 with my brother till God knows when and he was just finishing up his work for acomm position in the down under bar kitchen! He told me to go and speak to Oli or curt to take over his time slot!

    The next day I went down and spoke to Oli who took me in for a trial shift on Sunday afternoon. I got there on time and did my thing and secured my place at Base for free! This time only working 15 hours a week!
    Read more