Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 6 - Langeais to Angers, 71 miles

    April 21, 2016 in France ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Wow what a day. 71 miles along the Loire Valley using the 'La Loire a Velo' cycle route which tracks quiet roads and river paths whilst taking in all the main sights, chateau's and towns. It really doesn't get much better. Also picked up a companion along the way in the form of Carsten a German cyclist doing 6 months round Europe with the kind of beard I couldn't grow even if I didn't shave for 20 years.

    The blue sky's have gone though and experienced the first cloudy day of the trip with couple of light showers which wasn't too bad as kept the temperatures down but we did have a nice tail wind for the whole day (apologies to the non cyclists as I will probably mention the wind quite a bit on this trip).

    Not going to lie the last 10/15 miles were tough today. After yesterdays 70+ miles the knee, bum and thighs were starting to ache towards the end and Angers and my b&b (which turns out to be run by a lovely Indian couple) couldn't come quick enough.

    Wasn't too happy with 4 flights of steep stairs to my room but after a shower it was a quick turnaround to find a restaurant. We were recommended an Italian (run by a lovely German couple) and after a beer and bowl of pasta each each we also went for a pizza. My Garmin stated I burnt 3,400 calories today so didn't feel that guilty!

    After a quick couple of beers in an Irish bar (they really do get everywhere) I'm writing this from the comfort of my bed where I will rest before tomorrow's 70 mile ride to Nantes!
    Read more