Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Carpaccio is not pasta

    June 6, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    Sleeping where Hemingway slept! This is where he spent his first night in Paris with Hadley. Not sure if much is the same as it was 100 years ago, but it's still pretty exciting. Ended up eating dinner right across the street, where I ordered beef carpaccio because of course it's a sort of pasta dish...and Ben ordered the risotto with squid ink. We also ordered escargot and they were the highlight (plus, of course, bread). The carpaccio honestly wasn't terrible, but we still traded and I mostly ate the risotto, which absolutely made my mouth black. Drank a bottle of wine between us then crashed at the hotel. We had breakfast at the hotel where I had pain au chocolat, croissant, and, surprisingly, more bread, and Ben had mostly the same but a raisin pastry of some sort. We ate in the little atrium sort of place where I am pretty sure I've seen a picture of Hemingway eating, so basically just all Hemingway everything.Read more