Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    St Martin-in-the-Fields

    August 18, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    This was the pinnacle of our holiday: the booked event I had been anticipating the most - A classical concert in the church of St Martin-in-the-Fields 🤩

    I have always loved the Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields. Loads of my first records were performed by them. They used original instruments and had a really intimate chamber feel to their art. Tonight's musicians were not 'the Academy' but the venue was still very appealing to me.

    It did not disappoint! Such a beautiful church. The gilt ornamentation glittered in the (fake) candle light. The acoustics were wonderful. It was as expected a very intimate group of musicians: a conductor, 1 bass, 2 cellists, 2 violas and 4 violins, plus 1 piano obviously!

    And the music 🥰. The chamber works were at a sprightly pace, and the pianist played very expressively. It was all repertoire we know well, but every one of them reminded me of everybody I love. Ian & I walked down the aisle to Bach's Air; Elizabeth & I play Eine Kleine as a piano duet; Jen introduced me to Mozart piano concertos; Moonlight Sonata reminds me of my sweet Jeremy (I played it to calm my nerves the night before I was induced to give him birth, and it is one of the few pieces he plays); Pachelbel reminds me of my unique Emily (who once accidentally played this in D flat major!); the violins reminded me of my lovely mother, and the pizzicato bass reminded me of my Dad pom pomming as he listened. I spent most of the concert with happy tears.

    He played Chopin's Fantaisie Impromptu as an encore!

    We went to and from in a black cab as Ian is over the Tube, so it was a very special evening. The Tower Bridge was lit up when we got back.

    💖💗💜
    Read more