Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Good morning Vietnam!

    April 23, 2016 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I got a taxi from the airport to the hostel around 9pm last night. When I arrived at the hostel it seemed really nice, good atmosphere and friendly people. I were pretty tired from all the travelling so I got my head down early.

    I got up bright and early this morning, went down for breakfast and got chatting to an Canadian girl and we went on a free walking tour of Hanoi provided by the hostel.

    The traffic in Hanoi is crazy, just in one day I saw 4 accidents! It makes Thailand look tame! I also had no idea on the currency as it's 32,000dong to £1 so I got screwed over a few times!

    We walked by this lake and there were hundreds of just married couples having their pictures took... apparently it's good luck this lake. Walking though the markets was interesting... turtles to eat and flies on everything! There was even chickens with roses in which people buy for their wedding dinner! We also stopped at a coffee shop where people drink coffee with a raw egg cracked in, then on to a restaurant where a tried some good old chicken and rice from Vietnam lol

    Getting back to the hostel I joined in some drinking games and chatting to some more people. I booked on a Halong Bay tour for tomorrow. There is a pub crawl every evening from the hostel at 9pm so I went out on that however shortly after we set off I got a migraine which gutted me so I made my way back to the hostel ready for my early start tomorrow!
    Read more