Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    A walk in the countryside

    February 7, 2015 in England

    Today Britt, her friend Cei Cei and I took a walk in the countryside of Oxted. A half an hour trains ride from Victoria Station in London and we arrived in Oxted and immediately set out on our 19.5km walk. We wandered through little villages, across rolling hills, through woods and fields and muddy terrain and climbed over many a fence. We breathed in beautiful fresh air, saw remanent of snow from earlier in the week and watched as local dogs tore up and down the countryside in sheer delight.

    We stopped at a small village to eat our packed lunch and then were persuaded through the wind and kind locals to stop at a local café for cake and tea. It was lovely and warm and smelt delicious.

    We wandered back through the woods, over the hills and faraway before returning to the town of Oxted with it's beautiful old buildings that look like they’ve come from a Harry Potter time. Back onto the train to London and home to rest one’s weary feet.

    This was my first real hike (that’s what I’m calling it, embrace it). We walked 19.5kms in 4 ¼ hours, which I thought was great! Next I’d save the scones till the end. Eating cream and then walking another 10+ kms was not a good idea haha.

    I had a couple of blisters on my heels, but otherwise I walked away free of soreness and injury – success!

    I can’t wait to explore the English countryside again once more

    Saturday Walkers Club: http://www.walkingclub.org.uk/
    Read more