Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    A view from the bridge

    March 2, 2015 in England ⋅ ☀️ 8 °C

    Tonight I saw an Arthur Miller play titled, A view from the bridge.

    This play has had so much interest around it. It originally ran at the Young Vic last year, and was so successful that it was transferred to the West End (this is a big deal!) for an 8 week run this year. Mark Strong took the lead character of a wonderful full cast.

    I was very excited to see this play (as per usual). "My cheapest seat in the house" ticket took me straight on stage! Third row back from the actors. Winning!

    There were four rows of seats either side of a rectangle figure in the middle of the stage. Being a circular style performance, the actors walked around this rectangle area, never posing for too long, and ensuring that whoever you sat in the theatre you had a great view.

    It ran for 2 hours with no break, and no break was necessary. It was just fantastic! The more plays I see the more I know it triumphs over TV & movies. Maybe it's the fact that you're there, meters from the actors and making their performance almost tangible to you. You seem to see every range of skill in the tool kit on stage.

    *Spoiler Alert*
    The final scene was great. The 'heavens' opened and the stage rained down blood all over the actors. It was a vibrant, vicious colour red that had emitted a very strong smell. Once it stopped raining, the actors got up to bow and that was it. A very poignant moment.

    This is the second Arthur Miller play I've seen since I've been here. I saw the Crucible last September, which just blew my away. He's certainly someone I will be keeping an eye out for in future.

    A view from the bridge
    http://www.youngvic.org/whats-on/a-view-from-th…
    Read more