Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 255

    Final night

    September 12, 2015 in Belgium ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Well tonight is my final night of my summer backpacking adventure. I arrived into Brussels in the early evening, around 8pm after spending the day exploring Ghent. I was having a great time. The place I chose to have a drink at in Ghent forgot my toastie, so they gave me a free gin and tonic. My hostel gave me a free room upgrade, 10 bed to 4 bed and when I thought that I'd I lost my ear phones again, I found them!!

    But when I went to sit down at my computer to do my nightly research I realised that I had nothing to look up. There was no new town or country to research, maps to look at, Pinterest boards to fill. This made me a bit sad, and gave me an insight into what really heading home might feel like.

    It's a bit ironic really as I've been so looking forward to going back to London. Last Thursday TMP confirmed work for me and then the stars aligned and a room in my friend's apartment became available. The girls have been very excited to hear that I'm returning and I'm very excited to go back and spend my days hanging out with them.

    The last 4.5 months and really the last 2.5 months, where I have really been on my own, not seeing anyone that I know, meeting new people all the time, has just been quiet unreal. I have made some wonderful friends. And have realised how much I miss the Australian / New Zealand sense of humour and way of life. She'll be right mate ...

    I've seen 10 countries, surpassed my 20 country count, attended 3 music festivals, partied till the sun rose at least once, camped near the beach, sailed the Greek Islands, swam in water so clear you could see the ground for miles, had a tomato fight, eaten my way around Europe, randomly found friends at a Florence concert, followed the trail of the monuments men, had my phone stolen, built muscles carrying my bag up and down stairs, and walked many a kilometre on walking tours. And that's just the tip of the iceberg.

    Europe in the summer, you've been amazing! Now let's make the next 3 months epic!
    Read more