Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 256

    Palace to palace prince's trust ride

    September 13, 2015 in England ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Well, it's day 1 back in London and I'm straight into it. Today I worked the palace to palace prince's trust bike ride. It's an event that sees a few thousand people ride from Buckingham palace to Windsor castle, taking either the 55 mile or 90 mile routes.

    I've been quite lucky in this round, my role is to help at the start, beginning at 5am and finishing at 10.30am. Which is good as I stayed in a hostel last night close to the mall and woke at 4am, not ideal 'day before going back to full time work' conditions.

    It was a really nice morning. We got to watch the sun rise over the .... And then watch as the clouds set in. It was cool, but not windy, so I was happy. And I got to see a few squirrels running a muck.

    My role was to stand near the ...., which was the entrance and hand out route guides, while directing the riders to the start line.

    It was a bit of a subdued affair really, I'm sure at the end with the finishing village it will be party mode!

    I saw Chloe, Nicky and Louise at the start, which was good. I might meet up with them for a drink later, depending on where.

    We finished early, so I took a walk through the city towards Holborn station. There was another bike race that started at Piccadilly, so most of central London was shut down, which is when London is my fav.

    It feels good to be back. Let's do this London!
    Read more