Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Krabi Day 1

    February 22, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ 🌙 30 °C

    So after a ten hour flight from Copenhagen, I made it into Krabi in Thailand (very) early this morning.

    It took a while to get through immigration at the airport, which is not uncommon, and my airport transfer guy was a bit weird. But I made it to the hotel around 7 am, and was able to check in almost seven hours before their usual check in time. Lucky!

    After getting settled at the hotel, I had their breakfast buffet which was very nice.

    With up to 38 degrees today it was almost too hot to be outside! 😳 But I managed to go for a walk around the local area, Ao Nang, and down to the popular beach. It’s a very touristy place with lots of hotels, restaurants, tour operators and shops. The beach and the cliffs are very exotic and beautiful though.

    When following the beach I eventually made it to the ‘monkey trail’, a rather steep walkway with a small wooden staircase. I didn’t see any monkeys today, but the trail leads to a gorgeous secluded bay and beach used by the Centara Grand resort where I had originally planned on staying. I decided not to, since you can only get there by boat, which is not so practical in the long run. Neither is the monkey trail - at least when carrying a suitcase 🙈

    In any case, the resort and its ‘private’ beach is really something and I’m glad I saw it despite not staying at the hotel.

    My actual hotel for the first two nights, dusit d2, is brand new and also quite good. I have a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the pool.

    After getting back to my hotel, I decided to get a 90 min massage at the hotel’s spa facility. Everything is really cheap here so it would be silly not to get some spa pampering. The massage was good, and probably what my travel-weary body needed.

    Over the afternoon I spent some more time at the hotel and finished the day with a nice dinner at the hotel’s own restaurant, which is really nice.
    Read more