Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    FanX: Day 1

    September 21, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    So, I left Orlando early this morning to catch a flight across the United States to Salt Lake City in Utah. It's my first time in Utah, and the view as we approached the airport was quite something.

    My reason for going to Salt Lake City is the three-day pop culture convention FanX. This is a huge event, attended by as much as 100,000 fans - so one of the biggest comic cons in the US.

    This year, they have around 100 celebrity guests and hundreds of vendors.

    I have attended a lot of conventions, but this is definitely one of the biggest!

    I did 5 panels - the first one with Ralph Macchio and William Zabka from Karate Kid and Cobra Kai, which is one of my favorite shows. Always fun to see these guys, and I also got a photo with them later.

    I also did a photo and panel with the great actress Alexandra Daddario, who is doing her first convention.

    Later, I attended a panel with three popular voice actors from an animated Star Wars series.

    My last panel of the day featured the cast of 90s horror/comedy Scream - Neve Campbell, Skeet Ulrich, Matthew Lillard, and Jamie Kennedy. An entertaining bunch for sure, especially Lillard, who walked around amongst the audience for most of the panel!

    At some point over the evening, I also joined a panel talking about Disney World vs. Disneyland! Very apropos since I was at Disney World yesterday and going to Disneyland in California on Monday.
    Read more