Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    FanX: Day 2

    September 22, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Great second day at FanX! Quite a busy one, too. I did six panels, the first one featuring Karen Gillan, who plays Nebula in several Marvel movies, Alex Kingston, who I best remember from E.R. and Arthur Darvill, who is probably best known from tv show Dr. Who.

    After that, a smaller panel with Wayne Knight from Jurassic Park and Seinfeld, among other things. A great actor, and it was really interesting to hear about his life and career, and I love his Newman character on Seinfeld.

    Later, I did a panel with the amazing cast of several Marvel shows, primarily Daredevil. The actor who played Daredevil, Charlie Cox, was there as well as the villain on the show, portrayed by Vincent D'Onofrio. The gorgeous Krysten Ritter and Carrie-Ann Moss (best known from The Matrix) also joined the panel.

    My last three panels were all focused on actors from Back to the Future: 92-year-old James Tolkan who played Strictland, Tom Wilson, who played Biff Tannen, and then Doc Brown himself, Christopher Lloyd. I have seen these guys several times before, but it was nice that they each did a half-hour individual panel, even though they couldn't talk about the movies due to the strike.

    Tom Wilson, who is also a comedian, was extremely funny, and I must say he did one of the most entertaining and enjoyable panels I have ever attended.

    Seeing Christopher Lloyd again was bittersweet, as this is apparently the last convention he will ever do, and last ever panel. He was great as always, and I have been lucky to see him at several different conventions over the past few years.

    Speaking of Back To The Future, in between the various panels, I had a photo op with none other than Michael J. Fox. I have met him four times now, which is surreal to think about. He has been my hero for over three decades, so it is a privilege to meet him, and this was most likely his final convention as well.

    I also got a photo with the aforementioned Krysten Ritter who has done a lot of cool stuff - such as Breaking Bad, Daredevil, and Jessica Jones, where she plays the titular role.

    Finally, I got a photo with Hollywood legend Tony Danza! In a career spanning 45 years, he is probably best known from Taxi in the 70s, which also featured Christopher Lloyd.
    Read more