Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Trip Preamble

    May 3, 2016 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    This year I plan to drop in on the remaining 39 unvisited states in the continental USA. There will also be side trips to my son, Graham in Vancouver and my brothers in Alberta and Ontario.

    I will be using a new camera. Most of my inflight photos are shot through a small side window I can open. To see out I need a tilting display. I have retired my old Xacti for a Nikon S9900. The display twists as well as tilts and more importantly, it has optical stabilization which should minimize vibration effects while flying.

    Waiting for weather. It seems especially fickle this week. Monday morning looked like Wednesday would provide a good window to start down the eastern seaboard, west across the bottom, then up via Arizona. Monday evening's forecast projected bad weather settling along the eastern half of the US.

    But I am hopeful the forecast is unreliable. I will prep the plane on Tuesday to be ready for whenever the actual weather opens a window.

    As usual, my Inreach satellite communicator will leave a trail visible at: https://share.delorme.com/RayStL
    Read more