Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Olney (KONY), TX

    May 12, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    1.7 hours. Refueled.

    The landscape is much drier here
    This is the home of Air Tractor cropdusters.
    Is the Stark's Aviation building Ironman's base?

    High temperatures make high altitude airports seem higher than they are. I never did get fully used to this 'density altitude' effect. Intellectually I know it takes longer to get airborne but my muscle memory is a slow learner. 
    That was a factor in the dumbest mistake I made on this trip. For windy conditions, on the ground I keep my spoilers open and flaps in their negative, high cruise speed, position. Olney TX was high, hot and windy. Got to an impressive ground speed before wallowing into the air at the end of the runway, before realizing why I was not climbing properly.
    My pre-takeoff checklist reminds me to set spoilers and flaps properly. Works every time I read it.
    I have not forgotten to do that since Olney.
    Read more