Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Hawthorne (KHTH), NV

    May 14, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    3.1 hours. Refueled.

    After landing I was met by the most impressive person in aviation I have ever met, Betty Easley. Neither pilot or designer, her card reads Volunteer Airport Greeter. She greets EVERY pilot landing at the airport in Hawthorne NV, regardless of the time of day or night. Betty began doing this after she retired from teaching over twenty years ago. She had heard me on her radio scanner at her home. Although this is not the busiest airport in the world, it is not that small, boasting three courtesy vehicles. Even mediflights call her before they arrive in the middle of the night.

    My next leg would take me north to Reno then west across mountains. Betty knew someone, of course, and called him for a weather update. He had just landed after a wave soaring sailplane flight near Reno. He said to expect turbulence and to cross at 12500 ft to miss most of it.

    Betty's photos here show me leaving Hawthorne.
    Read more