Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Jacksboro (KJAU), TN

    May 30, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Flight of 0.6 hours. Time zone change to EDT. Daily total of 7.7 hours and 1625 km (877 nm).
    The sun was slipping over the ridge when I stopped. From first departure to final touchdown took 11.7 hours. Longest of the trip.

    The pilot's lounge door was locked. Although they have a courtesy car, its key was inside the locked building. The phone was inside there too. I found nothing previously to warn of this situation in the online airport info. Grrr.

    Since my phone does not work in the US, my choice was to either pitch my tent by the plane or walk to somewhere to call a cab. I started walking.

    This was when I was most apprehensive on the trip. Although I know virtually nothing about that region, the movie Deliverance came to mind. I reactivated and took the satellite tracker in case I got into a situation were I could warn potential thugs that my position was being tracked at all times.

    Just off the airport there was a single house. I expect my appearance was not the most pleasing after sitting for 12 hours in plane on a hot day. I knocked on the door. After some dog yapping and feet shuffling back and forth for about minute, no doubt wondering how to should respond, the door was opened to a middle aged woman. Telling her my plight she agreed to call a taxi. No, I don't think she was lonely, glad for any company.

    Stayed at the Super 8.

    Tomorrow the weather looks ok... so far. Only two states left, West Virginia and Ohio. Then on to Ontario to clear customs at Tillsonburg, before hopping over to Woodstock to visit my brother. Total air time should be under 4.5 hours. Slack day.
    Read more