Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    (KSEF) Sebring, FL

    April 8, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    It was to be a 2:40 min flight to the Bahamas. This is an unplanned stop.

    After getting everything set up for my international flight to The Bahamas, and after I took off. I noticed my transponder was not working.

    Landed here to troubleshoot the problem. When this happened before the solution was to remove then replace connector. I did not have my tiny screwdriver to fit the connector, The FBO (FIxed Based Operator), leant me their Lincoln town car to go to Dollar Center to pickup an eyeglass repair kit. They had the screwdriver but I was too hot and tired to proceed today.

    Got a room at Chateau Elan. It was on the third floor with a balcony overlooking a turn at the Sebring racetrack, Glad there was no big race on so I could get a room at a 'typical' motel rate.

    Tomorrow will see if the new screwdriver will save the day/trip.

    The next day, after eliminating other possibilities, I ended up opening the connector to the transponder panel unit. Found a pin was not fully seated. Sat it back down, reconnected, enjoyed the feeling of success.

    The trip continues.
    Read more