Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    (KGIF) Winter Haven

    April 12, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Met David Berelsman.
    David drove me around looking for hotels. After several attempts, ended up at Budget Inn.

    Pics are of a couple of interesting aircraft at the airport.

    Tried to fix an equipment issue that began in the Bahamas. The main 'glass panel' instrument stores maps, airspace info, flight data, etc. on an SD memory card. I generally remove it at night for examination and safe keeping. When I reinstalled it while in the Bahamas I got a card read failure. (I had already managed to lose my backup card a day before.) No big deal since i can get a new card and prepare it accordingly form the laptop i carry with me. Dave kindly took me to a pharmacy where I picked up a card and prepared it that evening.

    Tried it the next morn but still got a card read error. Oh oh, the reader is dead. That is not critical since I have the same info on the android tablet I also use when I fly. Effectively it meant I was driving on my spare tire. No more tires after that.

    Next is to retrace my way back north. Planned stops are Barnwell SC, and Danville VA.

    Managed to spill some gas when refueling which I soaked up with a rag I carry for that purpose. Should not have stored it uncovered with me in the cockpit though.
    Read more