Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    (KDAN) Danville Airport, VA

    April 12, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Sleep and gas.
    Staying at Sleep Inn.

    I got a collapsible luggage cart for the trip to use instead of the typical airline traveler luggage cart I had previously.That one did not roll well outdoors and not at all in sand. My new one i stronger and has much larger weeks that fold sideways so that it is thinner than the old one when folded. I use the carts to haul loaded gas cans.
    Today was the first time I used it on the trip because I will be filling the cans with car gas to take back to the plane. (Could have used them in Front Royal and Jacksonville but did not.) The cart with my luggage and (empty) gas cans rolled well for ten steps.Then the ground crew arrived in a cart and took me to their van where I was driven to a couple of hotels until we found one with a vacancy. For the record, it is harder to load a cart full of luggage and cans onto a vehicle than to load the items on the cart directly on that vehicle. But if they had been less helpful, I am sure the cart would have demonstrated its usefulness.

    Plan for tomorrow. Last day (sort of). My home field of Weyman is not landable yet. Latest plan is to go directly to Fredericton and clear customs there too. With the forecast weather for Fredericton area, it should only be a few days before GUFY will be able to land at Weyman. I will still probably have to use my 'bog boards' under the wheels to enable the plane to cross the thawing turf to the hangar.

    Used the cart in the morning to go get gas at a nearby station and haul it with my luggage back to the airport. It worked well, handling grass and curbs with ease.
    Read more